Sports Africa is a
Non-profit network of
African sports scholars

Read more

Sports Africa is a
Non-profit network of
African sports scholars

Read more

Sports Africa is a
Non-profit network of
African sports scholars

Read more

Welcome

Past Events

SportsAfricaLive #10 (Book discussion)
Saturday, November 5, 2022 @ 3pm GMT (Dakar time)
11:00am US EST – 10:00 am US CST – 8:00am US PST – 6:00pm Nairobi 4:00 pm Lagos – 5:00 pm Jo’burg

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_rUX5q5xYT9621fJXtNbzPQ

The author
Dr. Itamar Dubinsky 

The discussants
Dr. Ikechukwu Ejekwumadu
Dr Papa K Owusu-Kwarteng 


SportsAfricaLive #9
SportsAfrica 9th Webinar: Sports and Gambling in Africa
October 8, 2022 @ 3pm GMT

More about the panelists and moderators >>


SportsAfricaLive #8 (Book discussion)
Thursday September 29, 2022 @ 2:00 pm EST (6:00 pm GMT)

Listen to the discussion: https://footballscholars.org/uncategorized/cameroonian-dreams/

More about Uroš Kovač and his publication >>


SportsAfricaLive #7 (in French)

Économie du sport en Afrique : Réalité, défis et opportunités
Quelle contributions du sport aux économies et à la croissance en Afrique?

SportsAfricaLive le 13 mai 2022, @ 15h GMT


SportsAfricaLive #6

How Are Women, Girls, and Sexual Minorities Navigating African Sporting Spaces? (video)
April 8, 2022 @  3:00-4:30 GMT


SportsAfricaLive 2022

In 2022 SportsAfrica will hold a series of Sports Africa Live (SAL) Webinars. You are cordially invited to take part as an attendee or presenter.

Sports Africa Live (SAL) sessions are virtual roundtables typically 90 to 120 minutes long, focusing on specific current and ongoing issues in African Sport. Content draws from practical experiences as well as academic and empirical knowledge to create a rich exchange among all participants.

Email sportsafricaufs@gmail.com to express your interest in presenting a Sports Africa Live session in one of the following formats, and the proposal guidelines and submission form will be sent to you by a member of the SportsAfrica team:

  • Thematic panels
  • Research workshops
  • Book launches

The upcoming sessions will be announced soon.


Africa and the Olympics: Race, Gender, and Power on the Road to Tokyo

July 22, 12 PM EDT/UTC-4

in partnership with the African Studies Association


Tribute to Lee Evans


Sports Africa Conference 14th Conference
African nations and world competitions – State of Play

The Sociology and Anthropology Department at the Nelson Mandela University in partnership with Sports Africa,  and the Center for International Studies at Ohio University hosted the 14th edition of the Sports Africa Conference.

ABOUT US

What We Do?

Our Programs

It will be published soon!

Our Speaker

Subscribe to stay informed

Our Partners & Sponsors